The parish church, dedicated to S. Lorenzo, was built in 1769 by the architect Luca Lucchinidi Certenago on the ruins of an earlier place of worship, which still stands today under the name of San Lorenzo Vecchio. Inside, one can still admire paintings by local artists, amongst which the altarpiece by Domenico Carpinoni depicting Saints Roch, Anthony the Abbot and Alexander stands out.
Featuring a spacious and well-defined churchyard, the church’s façade is divided into three sections by four groups of pilasters and counter-pilasters. Two horizontal cornices, complete with their respective mouldings, subdivide the façade into two orders, each topped by a triangular pediment. The lower order features the main doorway in the central section, crowned by a triangular pediment, and two niches with statues in the side sections. In the upper order, there is a rectangular window, surmounted by a curved pediment, in the centre, with the same type of niches on either side. The façade is connected to the side elevations by curved walls without pilasters. The interior comprises a single nave, divided by stucco Corinthian pilasters into five bays of varying widths depending on their function. The plan of the chancel is square and opens out into a semicircular choir. Light enters the church through large windows, all situated above the cornice.
HISTORICAL NOTES:
– 1769 – 1800: The church was built on the ruins of the ancient baptismal church in 1769;
– 1800: On 21 November, Bishop Gian Paolo Dolfin celebrated Mass in the new church;
– 1864: On 17 November, Bishop Pier Luigi Speranza consecrated the church, confirming its ancient title of S. Lorenzo the Martyr.
Source: https://chieseitaliane.chiesacattolica.it/chieseitaliane/